Google Meet update: Tech giant Google recently announced that Google Meet is getting new audio and video locks to let hosts turn off the microphones and cameras of other participants. The new feature essentially lets you mute a user and prevent them from unmuting themselves until you unlock them.

Earlier this year, Google rolled out the ability for hosts to mute everyone all at once in a group call. This latest feature takes the move a step further by preventing participants from unmuting themselves at any point during the call.

“As a meeting host or co-host, you can lock all participants’ audio so they are muted. Once you turn off Audio lock, everyone can unmute their devices. The audio lock doesn’t apply to you or other meeting co-hosts. Currently, Audio Lock can only be set from a computer, but lock settings also apply on Android and iOS mobile devices,” Google said.

“You can lock all participants’ cameras so no one can turn on their video. Once you turn off Video Lock, everyone can use their video again. Video lock doesn’t apply to you or other meeting co-hosts. Currently, Video Lock can only be set from a computer, but lock settings also apply on Android and iOS mobile devices,” the company said.

According to the company, participants using versions of the Android and iOS apps that do not support the new feature will be removed from the meeting if the host turns on the audio or video lock.

If users try to join a meeting that currently has the locks enabled, they will be prompted to update their app in order to be allowed into the meeting. However, if the host turns off the locks, the participants will be able to rejoin the meeting. The new audio and visual lock features are starting to roll out today to all Google Workspace customers, along with G Suite Basic and Business customers.

Source:-zeebiz